Breaking News

Covid-19: FG bans travellers from 13 Countries, suspends issuance of Visas

In order to stop the spread of Coronavirus in Nigeria, the Federal Government has announced restrictions to entry of from travellers’ from the following countries: China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Netherlands and Switzerland. 

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation and also Chairman of the Presidential Taskforce on Covid-19, Boss Mustapha made the announcement at a media briefing today Wednesday March 18th. According to him, the affected countries are countries with over 1,000 cases domestically.
 He said 
"the restrictions is to take effect from Friday 20th March, 2020 for 4 weeks subject to review".

He also announced temporary suspension of visas issued to nationals from these countries. He said Nigerians arriving from these countries will be subjected to supervised isolation for 14 days. He advised all Nigerians to avoid travel to these countries for the meantime.
He also urged returnees to self-isolate themselves in their homes for 14 days.
“We urge everyone returning to Nigeria from any country to strictly self-isolate for 14 days in their homes."

No comments